If you’ve registered a vehicle in Florida, you’re required
to obtain insurance coverage. Florida, like most other states, has set
a minimum amount of insurance which all drivers are required to carry.
This minimum coverage is at least $10,000 worth of property damage liability
insurance, and another $10,000 in personal injury protection.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance
Florida is a “no-fault” auto insurance state, meaning your
insurance company will be responsible for compensating you in the event
of a crash no matter who was at fault. Personal injury protection insurance
covers you in your own vehicle, as well as other vehicles you may be a
passenger in. This insurance will also cover you if you are involved in
a pedestrian accident or bicycle accident. Additionally, PIP insurance
will cover your children, other members of your household, and any passengers
who do not have PIP insurance, provided they also do not own a car. The
amount you can recover in an insurance claim is capped by the limits of
- Minimum: $10,000 PIP coverage in the state of Florida
Property Damage Liability (PDL) Insurance
While personal injury protection covers bodily harm and injuries, PDL coverage
covers damages to other people’s property. The most common example
of this is damage to the vehicle, but can also include things like walls,
fences, or even valuable stored inside the car at the time of the crash.
- Minimum: $10,000 PDL coverage in Florida
Optional Coverage: Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) Insurance
In addition to PIP insurance, which covers injuries to you and specific
passengers, and PDL, which covers damage to other peoples’ property,
there is also BIL coverage. This bodily injury liability insurance can
pay for serious injury or death to other parties when you are at fault
for the crash. Essentially, this coverage gives you financial defense
in case you are sued by an injured person, but many insurers also provide
legal representation if this happens.
What if I Don’t Have Insurance?
If you’re driving without insurance, the best case scenario is a
license suspension of up to 3 years and fees which can total $500. If
you injure someone while driving without insurance, you can potentially
be sued and must pay the damages out of pocket. Driving without insurance
is illegal, and highly irresponsible.
For more about Florida car insurance requirements, download
Palm Beach County car crash attorney Craig Goldenfarb’s guide: “What Car Insurance Do I Need? “ The West Palm Beach Law Offices of Craig Goldenfarb, P.A. offer a
free insurance-registration holder to all West Palm Beach drivers. Request yours by clicking
Injured in a car crash? Call Law Offices of Craig Goldenfarb, P.A. at (561)
600-5605 to pursue fair compensation for your injuries.